Toya DeLazy

The nominees in the annual Feather Awards, a tongue-in-cheek celebration of local celebs who intrigue the gay community, have been announced.

Undeniably South Africa’s most audacious awards ceremony, the Feather Awards is a celebration of public figures – in the entertainment, sports and business fields – that the gay community finds inspiring, amusing, or just plain scandalous.

Renowned for its take-no-prisoners, tell-it-like-it is approach, the Feather Awards has consistently delivered an evening of hilarity, heartfelt tributes, and politically incorrect, yet well-placed truth-telling.

In an exciting development this year, for the first time, the awards will be screened on SABC1, taking the event to the entire nation!

“The Feathers are now a firm part of the Mzansi entertainment scene – and more importantly, have created a platform for sexual minorities to express themselves about the lighter side of life,” commented awards founder and co-producer Thami Kotlolo.

“We deal with so many heavy and serious issues as gays and lesbians in South Africa – this is just one night where we kick back be fabulous,  and give a ‘Cheers, darling!’ to people who inspire us!”

This year, the ceremony celebrates its fourth outing and, in tribute, has a total of four nominees per category. And what a bunch they are…

One of the most highly anticipated categories, that of Drama Queen, does not disappoint, with eliminated Idols star Tshidi “Don’t Jump on Me!” Tenyane, alleged fraudster Bishop Keith Harrington, singer Tina Mkwaiwa and actor-slash-theatre producer Sello Maake ka Ncube, nominated for the contentious trophy.

On a more dignified note, the Role Model of the Year category features a mixed bag of personalities, namely Public Protector Thuli Madonsela, magazine editor Khanyi Dlhomo, and Olympic medal winners Caster Semenya and Chad le Clos.

Samkelo Ndlovu, Lerato Kganyago, Bonang Matheba and Lucia Mthiyane – all undeniably hotties on the social scene – are up for the Fag Hag of the Year award.

Meanwhile,  Miss SA Melinda Bam, vocalist LIndiwe Suttle, it-girl Minnie Dlamini and TV presenter Jeannie D will do battle for the title of Best Styled Female.

Hunks of the Year include model Lunga Shabalala, model and reality star Greg Hammond, DJ Warrick “Warras” Scott and The Wild’s Tyrone Keogh.

The Sports Personality of the Year category features Kaizer Chiefs’ Siboniso Gaxa, Mamelodi Sundowns’ Katlego Mphela and Olympic swimmers Chad le Clos and Cameron van der Burgh.

The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on the 7th of November.

Get the Mamba Newsletter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend